- Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct
- Bli Bli on Maroochy Historical Society
- Discover Eumundi Heritage & Visitor Centre
- Noosa Library Service Heritage Library
- Noosa Museum
- Pioneer Cottage Buderim
- Sunshine Coast Art Collection
- Yandina Historic House
This year the Standards Review Program has eight organisations in the Sunshine Coast and Noosa regions. The participating museums and galleries have worked through the year-long program, which assisted them to recognise their achievements, improve their practice and raise their profile.
M&G QLD is pleased to acknowledge the support of Sunshine Coast Council through the Cultural Heritage Levy, which is allowing M&G QLD to deliver this program to the region.
Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct
Built in 1868, Bankfoot House is a state heritage-listed property and the oldest surviving residence in Glass House Mountains. A lunch stop and staging post for Cobb and Co coaches on the Brisbane to Gympie goldfields route, the house also provided accommodation for travellers. It is furnished with original domestic items, providing a unique glimpse into early life on the Sunshine Coast. The Friends of Bankfoot House offer engaging guided tours and presentations of the house and grounds.
Opened in 2015, the Mary Grigor Centre is an interpretive, archival and visitor centre supporting the significant collection of Bankfoot House. The centre houses a work room for the care of collections including a climate controlled store for paper based items and a dedicated space interpretation and display. The Centre also has a multi-purpose space available for use by community groups and organisations for events and meetings.
Address: 1998 Old Gympie Rd, Glass House Mountains QLD 4518
Opening Hours: Last Sunday of the month 10am-3pm, or by appointment
Admission Cost: Adults $5, Children free
Phone: 07 5493 0197 (Wednesdays)
Bli Bli on Maroochy Historical Society
Discover Eumundi Heritage & Visitor Centre
Discover Eumundi Heritage and Visitor Centre is housed in the old Methodist Church. The museum displays start with its collection of Aboriginal artefacts. Significantly, two local Aboriginal groups, the Undambi and the Dalungbara, have given their agreement for Discover Eumundi to be a keeping place for their artefacts. Well designed and produced displays depict the area’s natural and social history including early white settlement, development of the area and many industries such as timber getting, dairying, the railway and the hospital. Eumundi’s world famous markets, established in 1979, feature in the museum’s contemporary history displays. Discover Eumundi’s extensive collection of historic photographs is accessible for family research and reference. Over 3,500 photos capture the natural, social and commercial environment of Eumundi and surrounding districts from the 1880s to the present.
Address: 73 Memorial Drive, Eumundi QLD 4562
Opening Hours: Mon-Fri 10am-3pm, Sat 10am-2pm, Sun 10am-1pm
Admission Cost: Free
Phone: 07 5442 8762
Noosa Library Service Heritage Library
The Noosa Library Service Heritage Library manages the Local Studies Collection and Picture Noosa collection, provides research assistance to individuals and organisations, undertakes community outreach activities and hosts heritage programs and workshops. The collection’s focus is on items relating to the history and heritage of the Noosa region and includes books, photographs, maps, newspaper cuttings, magazines, CD-ROMs, videos, DVDs, pamphlets, oral histories, and organisational records. The Heritage Library also includes the Family History collection.
Address: 7 Wallace Drive, Noosaville QLD 4565
Opening Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5.30pm, Sat 9am-3pm, Sun 10am-2pm
Admission Cost: Free
Phone: 07 5329 6555
Address: 29 Factory St, Pomona QLD 4568
Opening Hours: Tues-Thu & Sat-Sun 10am-4pm
Admission Cost: Adults $5, Concession $4, Students $2
Phone: 07 5485 1080
Pioneer Cottage Buderim
Heritage listed Pioneer Cottage, a beautifully preserved timber home, was built in 1882. It was commissioned by early European settler John K Burnett and built by local builders using pit-sawn red cedar and white beech.
The cottage stands where it was built, behind what is now Buderim’s main street – Burnett Street which is named after the Burnett brothers. Today the cottage serves as a museum and is a treasure trove of items depicting the regions unique history.
John Burnett, his wife, eight children and elderly father lived in this small cottage. As the family grew two additional bedrooms were built in the roof and the back corners of the veranda were enclosed.
Descendants of the Burnett family owned Pioneer Cottage until 1952 when it wa purchased for £454 by Sybil Vise who subsequently bequeathed the cottage to the community.
Address: 5 Ballinger Cres. Buderim QLD 4556
Opening Hours: Mon-Sat 11am-3pm
Admission Cost: Adults $5, Children $1
Phone: 07 5450 1966
Sunshine Coast Art Collection
The Sunshine Coast Art Collection is a growing collection of paintings, photography, sculpture, ceramics and textiles that reflect and celebrate the character and culture of our region and encourage enjoyment and awareness of the visual arts.
You can view the Art Collection in council’s public buildings, through themed exhibitions at Caloundra Regional Gallery or by searching the entire collection online via council’s Art and Heritage Collections database.
The development of the collection has benefited significantly from the gallery’s annual acquisitive Sunshine Coast Art Prize along with generous donations from artists and individuals.
Phone: 07 5420 8800
Yandina Historic House
1899 house with Museum Shed. House houses Art & Pottery Gallery, featuring local artists, craft cottage, history reading room, information centre supported by local Chamber of Commerce and facilities for light refreshments. Museum shed – under development with ongoing support.
Address: 3 Pioneer Rd, Yandina QLD 4561
Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 9.30am-3.30pm
Admission Cost: Free
Phone: 07 5472 7181