- 51-59 Samwell Street, Croydon QLD 4871
- Opening hours
- 9am - 4.30pm
Croydon – Living Heritage Spun from Gold
Croydon Downs, a 19th century Queensland Gulf cattle station, became a bustling centre of fortune, progress, industry and hope when it was declared a gold field in 1885. Its living legacy is a 19th century heritage precinct containing civic and government buildings that are restored as museums; magnificent displays of steam machinery; historic cemeteries; a reconstructed railway station and unique heritage rail lines; the last hotel and General Store from the goldfield; replicated and original street lights, hand hewn sandstone gutters and bridge ramparts and an in situ mining museum - all free to the public.
Croydon’s status as one of the largest rural Chinese settlements in Queensland during the gold rush is interpreted in the museum displays, at the Chinese Temple archaeological dig site and lives on in the remaining descendants of Chinese families.
Croydon True Blue Heritage Centre has a short 17 minute photographic documentary film shown in the theatrette and more museum information and archives. It has sculptures, mining machinery, antique cars and A 10 Locomotives in the botanical gardens, located within the Visitor Information Centre.
Standards Program Outcomes
Croydon Shire Council’s large collections of historic documents and objects are being recorded, preserved, displayed and archived in the Croydon True Blue Visitor Information Centre and other Croydon museum locations.