Resize textTwitterFacebook WordPress Blog

Mercy Heritage Centre

Location
All Hallows’ Convent, 547 Ann St, Brisbane, QLD 4000
Postal address
All Hallows’ Convent, 547 Ann St, Brisbane, QLD 4000
Opening hours
Closed.
Admission
Donation
Facilties


Step into the atmospheric Mercy Heritage Centre and explore the life and work of the Sisters of Mercy in one of Brisbane’s oldest surviving buildings. The core of the existing building, Adderton, was built in 1858 by John Petrie for Dr George Fullerton.

Purchased as the first permanent home of the Sisters of Mercy in Queensland, Adderton was renamed Convent of Our Lady of Mercy, All Hallows’, on 1 November 1863. It was the Mother House of the Brisbane Congregation, and the base for a broad network of health, education, and social welfare programs throughout the state. With extensions to the original building in 1891, 1913, and 1919, it remained a major residence of the Sisters of Mercy until 2007. Visitors now have the unique opportunity to explore this historic convent, gaining insights into the Sisters of Mercy daily life through intimate encounters of the nun’s living conditions and instructional training.

The Sisters of Mercy are a group of religious women, dedicated to serving the poor, sick and uneducated. The order began in Ireland in 1831, and the Brisbane group was founded shortly after Queensland’s separation from New South Wales. 

The mission of the Mercy Heritage Centre is to continue the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy through interactive and educational exhibitions, demonstrations and guided tours. Revealed is the full breadth and depth of the rich and diverse history of the Sisters of Mercy Brisbane. The Mercy Heritage Centre also reveals the origins of the Mercy Order and its key ministries, All Hallows’ School and rare aspects of Catholicism.

 

Museums & Galleries Queensland
122 Gerler Road
Hendra QLD 4011

t: (07) 3059 9740 / Freecall within QLD: 1800 866 101
e: information@magsq.com.au

ABN: 32 109 874 811
ACN: 109 874 811

M&G QLD is supported by

© 2017 Museums & Galleries Queensland
Web design ToadShow