Resize textTwitterFacebook Instagram

2018 GAMAA

2018 GAMAA Winners and Finalists (from left to right): Bronwyn Davies, Kylie Bourne, Chelsi Foskett, Jane Harding, Debra Moore, Lesley Nicholson, Peter Connell, Hilda Maclean, Justin Bishop, Geoff Moore, Robyn Daw, Kath Kerswell, Prue Cawley, Cr Rick Baberowski, Iris Skinner, Jenny Verrall, Lyn Gordon, Jacque Wearmouth, Dr Veronica Lampkin and Alicia Jones. Photograph by Krista Eppelstun, courtesy of Museums & Galleries Queensland.

Winners and Finalists

Museums & Galleries Queensland announced the Winners and Finalists of the 2018 GAMAA on 7 December at Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct, Glass House Mountains, proudly supported by Sunshine Coast Council's Cultural Heritage Levy.

The Winners received an exquisite trophy specially commissioned from Queensland artist, Bruce Reynolds, made possible through the generous sponsorship of Brian Tucker Accounting.

Congratulations to all the Winners and Finalists for their outstanding achievement in being selected for a GAMAA.

Click on name to find out more about the nomination.

Projects: Organisations with Paid Staff

WINNER: Logan Art Gallery, Logan City Council for Public art and heritage trails


- Miles Historical Village Museum for What War Meant to Miles – Heroes, Hardships and Heartfelt Stories

- Sunshine Coast Council for From the Mountains to the Sea; Sunshine Coast Stories

Engagement: Organisations with Paid Staff

WINNER: Bundaberg Regional Galleries for Our Town: Children's Perspectives on Community Through Meaningful Arts Engagement


- Logan Art Gallery, Logan City Council for Making Arts Accessible program

- Scenic Rim Regional Council for Fires on Top of Mountains

Sustainability: Organisations with Paid Staff

WINNER: Sunshine Coast Council for Bankfoot House Preservation Housekeeping Project

Individuals: Paid Staff

WINNER: Kathryn Kerswell, Senior Registrar, The University of Queensland Art Museum, Brisbane


- Justin Bishop, Director, KickArts Contemporary Arts, Cairns

- Jane Harding, Heritage Librarian, Noosa Library Services, Noosa

Projects: Organisations Volunteer Run

WINNER: Fassifern District Historical Society, Templin Museum for Madam Weigel – The woman who clothed Australasia

Engagement: Organisations Volunteer Run

WINNER: Mulgrave Settlers Museum, Gordonvale for Visiting the Ancestors

Individuals: Volunteer Staff

JOINT WINNER: Prudence Cawley, Vice President, Buderim Historical Society

JOINT WINNER: Geoff Moore, President, North Stradbroke Island Museum on Minjerribah


- Alicia Jones, Member, Gold Coast & Hinterland Historical Society Inc

- Iris Skinner, The House of Fashion Curator, Fassifern Historical Society, Templin Museum


For GAMAA enquiries, please contact M&G QLD on 07 3059 9740 or freecall 1800 866 101.


Banner image above: GAMAA trophies on display at the Museum of Brisbane in November 2013. The GAMAA trophies are commissioned from a different Queensland artist/designer each year, through the generous sponsorship of Brian Tucker Accounting.

Trophy artists:
L-R back row: Lucas Salton, Craig Flood, Julie Shepherd, Joanna Bone. 
L-R front row: Marc Harrison, Matt Dwyer, Elizabeth Shaw and Nick Ashby, Glen Skien, Donna Marcus. Photo: Chelsea Sipthorp.


Museums & Galleries Queensland
122 Gerler Road
Hendra QLD 4011

t: (07) 3059 9740 / Freecall within QLD: 1800 866 101

ABN: 32 109 874 811
ACN: 109 874 811

M&G QLD is supported by

© 2021 Museums & Galleries Queensland
Web design ToadShow