- Brisbane Tramway Museum
- Commissariat Store Museum
- Diamantina Health Care Museum
- Gympie Regional Gallery
- Adderton: house & heart of mercy
- Miegunyah - Pioneer Women's Folk Museum
- Museum of Nursing History, RBWH
- Queensland Police Museum
- Wondai Regional Art Gallery
The 2010 Standards Program brought together an exciting group of galleries and museums from across the South East Queensland region.
Brisbane Tramway Museum
The unique feature of the Brisbane Tramway Museum is the collection of Brisbane tramcars and trolley buses. A tramcar collection dates from 1901 California Combination four wheel tram through the mighty twelve ton Dreadnought (or Centre aisle tramcar), to the well known Brisbane tram or Dropcentre which many visitors recall having ridden from Brisbane City to Fortitude Valley to the modern streamlined four motor (FM) car. The Brisbane Tramway Museum holds a collection of 22 tramcars of which 6 have been restored and available for people to ride on when the museum is open to the public. any visitors comment on remembering the days when these tramcars supplied public transport to the people of Brisbane and the efficiency with which they moved people to and from the city centre. Museum volunteers are in the process of restoring the prototype FM car built in 1937 and a Dreadnought built in 1913. The museum also holds two trolley buses of which one is in the process of being built in 1913. The power supplied to the rams at the museum is by Mercury Arc Rectifiers which is the only one operating in a museum in Australia. The Brisbane Tramway Museum also holds a large collection of uniforms from the tramway era which staff wear proudly wear when operating the trams for the public
Street Address: 50 Tramway Street, Ferny Grove
Commissariat Store Museum
The Commissariat Store Museum is housed in the only occupied convict-built structure in Brisbane and holds a significant collection spanning Moreton Bay's penal colony, early free settlement in Queensland and social history in Brisbane and Queensland up to the 20th century. We offer a hands-on heritage experience to our visitors and provide informative and interesting guided tours that detail Brisbane during the years of convict settlement. Aside from a significant collection of convict items on display and available for handling, such as leg irons, keys, cooking utensils and convict made bricks, our collection also includes various items from St Helena Island, the museum stores a substantial collection of furniture and household items brought to Queensland by the early free settlers. Numerous arts and crafts items are also on display, such as pieces by L.J Harvey and Muriel McDiarmid which reflect Queensland's unique arts movement in the early 20th century. Various other items which uncover Queensland's early shipping and maritime history such as items from the Government paddle steamer 'The Lucinda' and 'The Queen of the Colonies' shipwreck.
Street Address: 115 William Street, Brisbane
Diamantina Health Care Museum
A site with history dating back to Aboriginal ownership. In 1883 the Diamantina Orphanage was the first building on the land, then from 1893-97 it became a residence for the quieter patients from the Goodna Asylum, and in 1898 a Reformatory for boys. The Diamantina Hospital for Chronic Diseases with 72 beds was built on the site in 1901. Incidentally the Diamantina Health Care Museum is situated in the only wooden building remaining from this period and is heritage listed. When the South Brisbane Auxilliary Hospital as built in 1956 several of the old wooden buildings from the 'Diam', as it was affectionately called, were retained. In 1960 the name was officially changed to the Princess Alexandra Hospital, or PA hospital as it is often called. The museum displays many health care instruments used in the past including the first shock treatment machine dating back to 1850 and the first Kidney Dialysis machine. Also on display are many photographs of previous eras, furniture from the Diamantina days, data collections and free booklets about the Diamantina's fascinating past.
Street Address: Cornwall Street entrance, Princess Alexandra Hospital, Woolloongabba
Gympie Regional Gallery
The Gympie Regional Gallery is housed in a Heritage Listed School of Arts building designed by Hugo du Rietz and built in 1905. The Gallery showcases a changing display of exhibitions in three exhibition spaces - touring, local and regional. Exhibitions are mainly of a contemporary nature but can also include heritage and community displays due to the venue. After renovations in 2003, it is now a Category 'A' gallery, with a workshop space, hire venue, library, shop and a terrific group of volunteers and the supportive Friends of the Gallery.
Street Address: 39 Nash Street, Gympie
Adderton: house & heart of mercy
Adderton: house & heart of mercy is a social history museum exploring the lives and work of the Sisters of Mercy Brisbane Congregation within a significant building. The core of the existing building, Adderton, was built in 1858 by John Petrie for Dr George Fullerton. Despite extensions in 1891, 1913 and 1919, Adderton remains as one of the old surviving buildings in Brisbane. Purchased as the first permanent home of the Sisters of Mercy in Queensland, Adderton was renamed Convent of Our Lady of Mercy, All Hallows', on 1 November 1863. It was the Mother House of the Brisbane Congregation, and the base for a broad network of health, education, and social welfare programs throughout the state. It remained a major residence of the Sisters of Mercy until 2007. The Sisters of Mercy are a group of religious women , dedicated to serving the poor, sick and uneducated. The order began in Ireland in 1831, and the Brisbane group was founded shortly after QLD's separation from NSW. The main aim of Adderton: house & heart of mercy has always been to continue the legacy of the Sisters of Mercy trough educational programs and exhibitions.
Street Address: 547 Ann Street, Brisbane
Miegunyah - Pioneer Women's Folk Museum
Miegunyah houses the stories and objects of a late 19th century family life. Three generations of the Perry family lived there or were born there. Miegunyah is the only wooden 'Queenslander' style house of the 1880's that is open to the public. Miegunyah's collection focuses on Women's History. Miegunyah house is on its original block and has been restored mostly to its original appearance. Iron lacework, original windows and pelmets are all unique features of the house. It has cedar joinery and original floorboards. The stable is original and it has honeycomb brickwork underneath the house. The house is furnished as a house of the 1880's would have been furnished. these artifacts include furniture, art works, ornaments, soft furnishings, silverware and kitchen and laundry equipment. Other artifacts including costume, textiles, toys memorabilia and handicrafts are in storage but are shown in special exhibitions. The QWHA's own archives, dating form its foundation in the 1950's forma n important part if the collection and include lectures delivered to the association over the years and the monthly newsletter Historical Happenings. Other holdings include books on Queensland History: records relating to early governors, notably the Bowen Family: records to women and women's organisations; subject and family files; ephemera and photographs.
Street Address: 35 Jordan Terrace, Bowen Hills
Museum of Nursing History, RBWH
When the Museum of Nursing History began in 1992 one of its aims was to establish a museum f the history of nursing. There was also an awareness that material which was part of the history of the Royal Brisbane Hospital was not being collected and this also fueled the idea of a museum. The resultant collection, put together over seventeen years, is unique in Queensland and probably in Australia in its breadth and depth and its cohesiveness. It comprises an extensive collection of archival material, a very large collection of photographs, smaller collections of objects, uniforms and books (many of them rare text books), and a data base which records the names of all the nurses who obtained their general nursing certificate from the Brisbane Hospital from the time general nurse training commenced in 1886 to the end of the hospital based nurse training in 1993. The Museum of Nursing History is historically significant in its documentation of the Herston site from 1866, and the history of nursing on the site from the 1870's. It also records the history of medical administration on the site and changes and development in clinical practice. Because of its interpretive power and the significance of the site, which has become one of the largest concentrations of health enterprises in the southern hemisphere, it makes an important contribution to the history of health in Australia.
Street Address: Northern Wing, Lady Lamington Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Bowen Bridge Road, Herston
Queensland Police Museum
The Queensland Police Museum includes 25 displays describing police heritage, Queensland crimes, police investigative techniques, medals, the history of police women, operational equipment and transport, amongst others. Our simulated murder scene is a popular attraction - come in and try your hand at solving this crime.
We are the only offi cial Queensland Police Museum in the state and are the repository for police related memorabilia, images and archives from around the state. Other small collections exist but are usually focused only on uniform, badges and patches.
Our Research Library is home to a monograph collection, as well as archival material and images that date back to 1864. Our Education Program caters to both primary and secondary school groups and is most suited to students in years 5 - 12.
Street Address: Ground Floor, 200 Roma St, Brisbane
Wondai Regional Art Gallery
The Wondai Regional Art Gallery collection is housed in the town’s original Station Master’s residence which is an historic building dating back to the early 1900s. The Gallery provides emerging and established artists the opportunity to exhibit within the three gallery spaces. These exhibitions change monthly, with an Opening Night on the first Friday of each month. In addition, a Kidz Korner is made available to the schools in the region for display of student’s work. There are four competition months per year including the June Acquisitive, with the winning artwork being acquired by the gallery. This collection is growing with eleven pieces presently on display.
The gallery has grown steadily over the last twelve years through the enthusiastic support of volunteers. The gallery has evolved from a small community run gallery to being a cultural hub for the whole community. From day one the gallery has opened 7 days per week providing visitors and community members access to the facilities.
The gallery has been fortunate to have gained support from community sponsorship activity/ opportunities.
Street Address: 40 Haly St, Wondai